Stökkva beint að efni
Kirkja

Royal Garrison Church

5 íbúar mæla með
Um þennan stað
Royal Garrison Church was constructed c. 1212 as part of a hospital complex. Although the nave was badly damaged in a 1941 fire-bomb raid on Portsmouth, the chancel remains roofed and furnished.
Keyrt af Foursquare

Ábendingar heimamanna

Trevor
Trevor
January 24, 2020
Nice place to walk past and peer into. Lost its nave roof during the second world war. One can also climb up the ramparts or walk under, through the tunnel. Interesting place near to Gunwharf and Spice island
Wendy
Wendy
September 26, 2019
The Garrison church is older than the Anglican cathedral and has some very interesting history. Worth a visit for anyone interested in Portsmouth history. check opening times.
Creydi
Creydi
July 9, 2019
Royal Garrison Church was built in about 1212 by the Bishop of Winchester as part of a hospital and hostel for pilgrims. Used as an ammunition store after the Reformation, it became part of the governor of Portsmouth’s house during Elizabeth I’s reign. The church was restored in the 19th century,…
Sarah
Sarah
January 27, 2014
Roofless church bombed during the war
Deepak
Deepak
September 8, 2013
Church built in 1212. Destroyed by fire bombs on 10 January 1941, but the chancel survived. King Charles II married there in 1662.

Gististaðir í nágrenninu

Heimafólk mælir einnig með

Establishment
“Welcome on board HMS Warrior 1860, Britain’s first iron-hulled, armoured battleship. Launched in 1860, at a time of empire and Britain’s dominance in trade and industry, Warrior was the pride of Queen Victoria’s fleet. Powered by steam and sail, she was the largest, fastest and most powerful warship of her day and had a lasting influence on naval architecture and design. Work and life on board reflected both the changes the Royal Navy experienced as it evolved into a professional service and shifts in Victorian society. Built to counter the latest French battleship, Warrior was, in her time, the ultimate deterrent. Yet by igniting a new era in naval technology, she soon became outdated. After 22 years’ service, Warrior’s hull was to be used as a depot, floating school and an oil jetty. Painstakingly restored in Hartlepool and back home in Portsmouth since 1987, Warrior is a unique survivor of the once formidable Victorian Black Battlefleet and now serves as a museum ship, visitor attraction, popular private hire venue and more. Open all year round*, the Captain and crew invite you to come on board and explore this almighty Victorian battleship for yourself. The Ship’s company are also on hand to answer any questions you may have”
  • 7 íbúar mæla með
Bar
“It's a Wetherspoons. Good Curry nights. Cheap beer. Good value breakfasts too, with unlimited tea and coffee. Viscount (Lord) Palmerston served more than nine years as Prime Minister and died in office, in 1865, aged 80. He also had a series of forts built to protect Portsmouth Harbour and it's dockyard. However, the threat of invasion receded and the forts became known as ‘Palmerston’s Folly’.”
  • 3 íbúar mæla með
Point of Interest
“The Round Tower. Broad Street, Old Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO1 2JE. For hundreds of years, Portsmouth’s importance as a naval base meant that it was one of the most heavily defended cities in Europe. The Round Tower was the first of a series of permanent fortifications that were built in Portsmouth over the centuries. Work on the Round Tower was begun in about 1418, and it was completed in the 1420s. Before 1400, Portsmouth had been attacked and burnt several times by the French during the Hundred Years War. The Tower was intended to defend the entrance to the Harbour and prevent enemy ships from entering. It was not built specifically to defend the town. At the time it was built, the Round Tower was actually outside the town walls, on the small peninsula known as Point. The nearest gate into Portsmouth – Point Gate, later known as King James’ Gate – was roughly halfway along Broad Street between the Round Tower and the nearby Square Tower (built 1494). The Dockyard as we know it did not exist, and the King’s ships were moored in The Camber, the small harbour that today is mainly used by fishing boats. At first the Round Tower was known as “Master Ridley’s Tower”, after John Ridley who in 1536 had been put in charge of it and other royal buildings in the town. Like most fortifications, the Round Tower has been modified many times in its history. In the reign of Queen Elizabeth I (1558-1603) it was rebuilt with six gun ports for cannons, three of which have since been filled in (to the left of the existing gun ports, as seen from inside the Tower). The Tower has always been at risk of being undermined by the sea. In the reign of Elizabeth I, all boats that regularly went back and forth between the Isle of Wight and Portsmouth had to deposit a boatload of stones around its base. The Tower was extended in height shortly before 1815, and again in 1850 to bring it to its present height of 35 ft (11 m). The interior of the Tower as seen today dates from the period of the Napoleonic Wars (before 1815) when the central column and brick vaulting were added to support the weight of guns on the roof. The stalactites growing from the ceiling are due to minerals being washed out of the mortar holding the bricks together. As an additional defence, an iron chain could be stretched across the Harbour mouth from Capstan Square next to the Round Tower, over to the Gosport side, where a wooden tower was built at around the same time as the Round Tower. This chain boom was used for hundreds of years, with the chain being replaced at intervals, and a similar defence was even in place during the Second World War. Two original links from one of these chains can be seen in Southsea Castle (a replica link is also on display in Capstan Square). In front of the Round Tower is a rock that was brought back to Portsmouth on board HMS Hecla. The inscription on the rock reads "During the Russian War (1854) a landing party from HMS HECLA was attacked by a large body of Cossacks and many would have fallen had it not been for the courage of two sailors who taking cover behind this stone kept the enemy at bay until the safety of the whole party was assured. Captain HALL had this boulder carried to his ship and transported to Portsmouth. "”
  • 3 íbúar mæla með
Pier
“Clarence Pier is an amusement pier in Portsmouth, Hampshire. It is located next to Southsea Hoverport. Unlike most seaside piers in the UK, the pier does not extend very far out to sea and instead goes along the coast. One of the largest amusement parks on the south coast, all manner of amusements, rides and activities for the family. Kids parties Southsea, Portsmouth. rides, indoor play area, mini golf, arcade ”
  • 16 íbúar mæla með
History Museum
“Love Sherlock Holmes? FREE entry. Explore the connection between the city of Portsmouth and the creation of the Great Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  Showcasing a range of material from the Arthur Conan Doyle Collection, Lancelyn Green Bequest, the new exhibition traces the development of Conan Doyle's career as a writer, from his arrival in Southsea to the writing of the first two Sherlock Holmes novels - A Study in Scarlet and The Sign of Four.  ”
  • 9 íbúar mæla með
Staðsetning
England, PO1 2NJ
Sími+44 23 9237 8291
Staða opnunartímaLokað · Opnar 11:00 AM